The McLintocks building was once a key feature in the Summer Lane area of Barnsley, and it was one of the most well-known factories in the town.

It was the birthplace of one of Barnsley’s greatest inventions – the eiderdown or quilt. The quilt was patented by James McLintock, a Barnsley businessman, in the 1860’s.

McLintock & Sons subsequently became famous for manufacturing quilts, winning awards in Paris, Edinburgh and Philadelphia. The factory even manufactured a quilt with the Royal Coat of Arms for Queen Victoria.

The factory thrived for years and employed many people in Barnsley. More recently, the McLintocks building was occupied by the Mid-Yorkshire Chamber of Commerce, until it was acquired by Magna Holdings in 2004.

To register an interest in McLintocks Business Centre or for more Information please call 01226 283344 or e-mail info@mclintocksbusinesscentre.co.uk